Welcome to Bat-Shark Repellent!

bat-shark-repellent

Hello. Hello? Is this thing on?

Welcome to my blog. This is hopefully the last of many blogs (check to the right if you’re curious), but what can I say? I’m feeling prolific at the moment. It’ll probably wear off, but I’ll give it a go.

Ummm…introduction, yes. My name is Adam Redsell, and I am an attention whore–I mean, I like writing. A lot. I’m what I like to call a ‘culture vulture’ – videogames, comics, film, music – I just lap it up. But having experienced so much of it, I’m also a harsh bastard.

That’s why I’m using this blog to review comic books (and what better day to start than Free Comic Book Day?). Now here’s the thing: I’ll mostly be reviewing comics of the DC superhero variety. I do branch out occasionally into the realms of Dark Horse, Marvel, and the indies, but the bread and butter of my comic reading regimen is pretty much Batman and Superman prancing about saving the world, K? I’ll also be reviewing comics that I’ve bought with my own money. What that means is there may not be too many negative reviews here unless I bought a lemon, or my favourite writer has a bad hair day. Because I’m not in the habit of wasting money.

(Basically, if you see a review up here, take it as a recommendation at first glance, but read on anyway, you presumptuous git.)

Hopefully those things don’t preclude me from writing entertaining reviews. That’s what the blog title is supposed to elicit: comics are, above all things, entertaining. Packing and pacing a self-contained story, often within the framework of an over-arching, greater story, all within the confines of 22 pages. That’s better than TV, is what that is.

And yes, Batman does actually keep shark repellent in his utility belt. I’ve seen it.

Leave a Reply

